Skip to content

Community Builders Awards

Honouring the residents of Sault Ste. Marie who inspire all of us to reach our full potential

Nominations close Friday, July 26th.

The 4th annual Community Builders Awards will be taking place in October 2024, celebrating the extraordinary individuals and organizations making significant contributions to our city.

Award winners will begin to be announced: Monday October 23




The award goes to an individual or group that has helped make the Artistic community stronger. They have championed an individual, an event, an idea, an ethic, or philosophy.

Sponsored by

Algoma Office Equipment

Economic Development

The award goes to an individual or group that has had an important impact on the economic well-being of the community. They have chaired and led a committee, they have helped bring new business to town, or they are responsible for putting in place infrastructure.

Sponsored by



This award goes to a student, teacher, administrator, or education advocate (i.e. parent) who has made a difference in the City of Sault Ste. Marie. It could be an extraordinary teacher who has changed the direction of students’ lives, an administrator who established a specialized program, or an advocate who helped implement lasting positive change in our local schools.

Sponsored by



This award recognizes a person or group that has had an important positive impact on our environment, both man-made and natural. It may be a private initiative (i.e. an innovative energy efficient home) or a public one (a re-greening project). What all initiatives will have in common is that they demonstrate to the rest of us what is possible in improving our environmental footprint in our community.

Sponsored by


Hall of Fame

Big ideas. An individual or a group that has had a significant impact on the community. People who can be credited with the establishment of an institution (a festival, a park, a community centre).

Sponsored by

Daniel J. Fremlin Building Group

Health Care

The award goes to an individual or group that has had an important impact on the health care of the community. It could be as straight forward as a health-care professional who has gone beyond the call of duty, or the individual who helped establish a health care program that wouldn’t exist without his or her leadership.

Sponsored by

Sault College


The Legacy Award is a posthumous honour, recognizing an individual whose life and legacy have created lasting change and measurable difference in our community. This award pays tribute to an individual’s professional, social or cultural leadership and vision for the betterment of our community.

By acknowledging their profound contributions through either a living legacy or a legacy created through their passing, this award pays tribute to the enduring impact they have made, ensuring that their visionary spirit and dedication continue to inspire future generations.

Sponsored by

Eye Deal Optical

Sports and Recreation

The award goes to the individual or group that has contributed to the strength of sport in the community. They have inspired people (a coach), established a program (a league or playground), mentored a team or an individual to extraordinary accomplishment, or set an example for many to carry in their hearts.

Sponsored by


Unsung Hero

This award is presented to an individual or group whose tireless work and/or volunteer efforts in our community seek to improve the lives of others. The recipient has created a positive impact in our community both now and for the future.

Sponsored by

Algoma University

Young Leader

The award goes to an individual or group, under 25 years of age, as of October 2024, actively involved in worthwhile community service, in any one of the Community Builders categories. Recipients are young leaders who show a commitment in making their community better for others.

Sponsored by

Northern Credit Union

2023 winners

We are thrilled to announce the winners of the Community Builders Awards, designed to honour outstanding members of our community who help make Sault Ste. Marie a better place to work, live and play.

As steadfast champions of local, we strive to support and uplift our community and that most certainly includes the innovative, resilient and inspiring people who make Sault Ste. Marie so special.

These awards recognize the incredible achievements of ten local people, organizations or businesses in ten different categories.


  • Arts award: Isabelle Michaud
  • Economic Development award: Dawna Kinnunen
  • Education award: Entomica Insectarium
  • Environmental award: Emily Cormier
  • Hall of Fame award: The Comedics
  • Health Care award: Amanda Lambert
  • Legacy award: Shirley Roach-baa
  • Sports and Recreation award: Sault College Women’s Hockey Team
  • Unsung Hero award: Shauna DiGasparro
  • Young Leader award: Cole Clouthier


What are the eligibility requirements?
To be eligible for nomination, the candidate must be a resident of Sault Ste. Marie for the past 5 years. For the Young Leader award specifically, the nominee must be under 25 years old.

*Please note: Village Media staff and sitting politicians are not eligible for nomination.

When is the nomination deadline?
The nomination deadline for 2024 is Friday, July 26th.

When will the winners be announced?
The winners and their nominators will be notified in September and the winners will be announced publicly beginning on October 11th.

How do I submit my letters of support for a nomination?
You can upload your letters from the nomination form or you can email them to [email protected].

View all frequently asked questions >


At The Community Builders Awards, we greatly value our relationships with our sponsors. Through close collaboration, we strive to develop a sponsorship package to meet your company’s exact needs.

Our tailor-made sponsorship opportunities are designed to address each of our partners’ marketing goals and brand exposure. Our events attract supporters and professionals who are appreciative to luxury products, brands and services. Sponsoring the Community Builders Awards is a creative answer to your marketing needs.

For information regarding sponsorship opportunities, please contact:

Nelda Rimmer
Sales Manager, Village Media
[email protected]

2022 Sponsors

LBMX Tenaris GFL Daniel J. Fremlin Building Group Sault College Algoma Steel Inc. Algoma University United Steelworkers 2251 Northern Credit Union


Jasmyn Rowley
Director of Marketing & Communications, Village Media
[email protected]

Abbas Homayed
Director, Community Relations, Village Media
[email protected]